News & Views Sunday, June 24, 2018

New OMEA Required Concert Band Preview #1 - High School Class AA Tuesday, November 22, 2011

To aid Ohio band directors in selecting music for 2012 concert band adjudication, Stanton's will be providing previews of all of the new required pieces on the OMEA concert band lists.  This seven-part series will begin by featuring the new high school concert band selections, and will resume after the holidays with the new required pieces for junior high/middle school, as well as our recommendations for the best new marches.  You can view and listen to the complete OMEA required concert band lists by clicking on the OMEA Required Music Lists option on our concert band webpage, and selecting the list you wish to view.  We hope you find this preview series to be helpful, and look forward to helping you plan a successful contest program.

New OMEA Class AA Required Selections

Abiquiu – David Gillingham
(from the publisher notes)  Abiquiu was inspired by a provocative poem by the same name written by Mesa State College Professor and Colorado poet, L. Luis Lopez.  The ideas set forth by each short stanza of the poem are set somewhat programmatically to music.  With the generous support of Stephen Boelter and Karen Combs, Abiquiu was commissioned by the Mesa State College Wind Symphony, for the 2009 Best of the West Music Festival.

Colorado Blue – Jared Spears
(from the publisher notes)  Colorado Blue was commissioned by the United States Air Force Academy Band in Colorado Springs, Colorado. This tour de force is at times pensive and reflective, at time bold and forceful, and portrays the majestic beauty of the Rocky Mountains, and the endless expanse of the sky.

Instinctive Travels - Michael Markowski
(from the publisher notes)  Instinctive Travels is a brisk, bustling escapade full of defibrillating rhythms, indulgent mood swings, and a kaleidoscope of instrumental color evoking joyful euphoria, excitable anticipation, laughter and giddiness, and heroic exhilaration.

Jubilee Overture - Philip Sparke
(from the composer notes)  Jubilee Overture was commissioned for the fiftieth anniversary of the British-based GUS Brass Band and first performed by them at the band's Golden Jubilee Concert in 1983.  It was transcribed for wind band in 1984.  The work opens with a two-part fanfare – a brass flourish followed by a reflective chorale for the winds.  This builds to a climax as the flourish returns.  A lively allegro follows, with many changes of meter and a robust tune from the horns and saxophones.  Eventually a cantabile tune emerges from the middle of the band, which everyone then plays before the allegro returns.  A brief repeat of the opening fanfare precedes a presto coda.

Two American Canvases - Mark Camphouse
(from the publisher notes)  Like the paintings that inspired it, this selection weaves together different sounds and sentiments to produce a rich, evocative tapestry of impressions.  The two movements are based on Edward Hopper’s “Nighthawks” and Norman Rockwell’s “Freedom of Speech.”  From the meditative and serene to the epic and grand, it’s guaranteed to take you on an unforgettable journey.

All of these titles can be ordered via, or by phone (1-800-426-8742).  Don't forget to order your judges' scores - ordering now can save a lot of stress come contest time (avoid them being out-of-stock, or worse, temporarily out-of-print).  Keep following the Stanton's blog, for the upcoming high school class A, B, and C concert band previews.

< Previous|Next >